Ashley Isham Autumn Winter 2012 London Fashion Week

Can you tell me about your inspirations for your AW12 collection?

The inspiration for my collection is basically Greek mythology, the Greek goddesses. They were very feminine but at the same time strong and empowered, because obviously they are the Gods, right? We like women to be feminine but at the same time empowered and feel beautiful.

 

How did you decide on the silhouette and textiles?

Basically I am very particular about the things that I do. For example, jerseys are meant to be flowing, meant to be draping. It’s meant to just skim the body. That’s what I like about jersey, and that’s why I enjoy draping a lot. And I feel that the fabric should have a life of its own, and it’s very important to work with the characteristics of each fabric.

 

This was at Goldsmith Hall in Westminster, a beautiful venue where a number of shows were held this week. Ashley Isham sent down a big collection covering day and evening wear, using a full range of leather, jersey, lace, metallic and floral prints in some subtle and well-matched colours. The models’ super high gloss red lips looked really strong.

http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/iFPybSeSFFA?version=3&hl=en_GB&rel=0

Ashley Isham

[nggallery id=6]

