New name in fashion world model Nyasha Matonhodze

ZIMBABWEAN model Nyasha Matonhodze has been revealed as one of the faces of luxury French fashion label Louis Vuitton’s 2011 autumn/winter campaign. The confident Nyasha’s poise and maturity belies her 16 years of age.

 

It’s her statuesque grace (she’s five foot eleven) and sweet-as-pie personality that’s made her the new favourite of fashion editor Katie Grand, who kick-started Matonhodze’s career during her debut spring 2011 season when she booked the young model for Louis Vuitton, Emanuel Ungaro, and Loewe — all shows that Grand styles.

After those key catwalk sightings, Matonhodze shot spreads for Harper’s BazaarTeen Vogue, and V magazine. Better yet, she got the contract with Louis Vuitton, shot by renowned fashion photographer Steven Meisel and styled by Karl Templer.

Born: July 31, 1995
Hometown: Harare
Current City: Northampton, England

Nyasha Matonhodze has been announced as the new face of Louis Vuitton’s fall/winter advertising campaign

 

Sixteen-year-old Nyasha Matonhodze of Zimbabwe has been chosen as the new, fresh faces for Louis Vuitton’s fall/winter campaign. The young model was discovered only a year ago and has already starred in a number of magazine editorials. This is not the only big news for African models this week, with Liya Kebede of Ethiopia being named a new ambassador for L’Oreal Paris.

Nyasha was scouted by model agency Elite – She turned up for her first casting in her school uniform.

Asked what is the most favourite and least favourite feature about herself by the Zimbabwe, Nyasha states “My least favourite feature are my ears; they’re so small! For positive, though, a lot of people tell me I have a lot of compassion for others. I care a lot about people and when I help others, God blesses me with other things. What I hate is seeing a person who doesn’t appreciate themselves. Of course I have my insecurities; we all do, so I try my best to make people confident in who they are.”

VOGUE JAPAN November 2011 “Movement and Shape” Feat. Nyasha Matonhodze by Sølve Sundsbø

She was recently on the cover of one of Love Magazines 8 covers and you may have seen her face on a billboard somewhere as she is currently one of the feature models for Topshops A/W campaign.

